Meet the judges of the SPAB Heritage Awards

Share on:

We are excited to announce the 28 specialists from across the heritage and construction sector who are lending the 2022 Heritage Awards their expertise.

This year, three new categories – Best Loved Building, Sustainable Heritage and Building Craftsperson of the Year – will join the SPAB’s established awards, Philip Webb and the John Betjeman Awards. Our range of annual awards recognises the communities who care for our built heritage as well as the expert craftspeople and other professionals who repair them. The SPAB Heritage Awards looks to the future too, encouraging sympathetic new design and a sustainable outlook to building conservation.

We’re pleased that helping to judge our awards will be a wide range of experts with a wealth of knowledge and experience. They include: Dr Neal Shasore, CEO and Head of School London School of Architecture; Ruth Knight, Head of Sustainability at English Heritage; Phineas Harper, architecture critic and Chief Executive of Open City; Emma Simpson MBE, Director of Simpson Brickwork Conservation Ltd; Rachel Morley, Director of Friends of Friendless Churches; Neil Pinder, Head of Product Design and Architecture, Graveney School, South London; Eóin Madigan, sixth generation stone mason and lime practitioner; and Sarah Kahn, Partner at Roger Mears Architects. Meet all our judges

Top row left to right: Dr Neal Shasore, Emma Simpson MBE, Neil Pinder. Bottom row left to right: Rachel Morley, Phineas Harper and Sarah Kahn. 

The SPAB Heritage Awards are now open for entries. The closing date for entries is 28 March 2022, apart from the Philip Webb design award which will close on 12 September 2022. All awards are open to entrants from the UK and Ireland. 

The winners will be announced by TV presenter, designer and writer Kevin McCloud, at a ceremony in November at Conway Hall, London.

We are delighted that Storm Bespoke Secondary Glazing, a company the SPAB has worked with for 15 years, is the headline sponsor of the SPAB Heritage Awards. Terra Measurement, a surveying, measurement and engineering services company, sponsors the Philip Webb Award. If your company is interested in sponsoring an award, please contact us:


Get involved