John Betjeman Award

John Betjeman Award

The John Betjeman Award celebrates the repair and conservation of places of worship. 

It is named in honour of writer, architectural historian and conservation campaigner John Betjeman, who was a member of the SPAB Committee for over two decades, from 1954 to 1977. 

The Award is given in recognition of a single scheme of repair or conservation, rather than one that involves general works, extension, re-ordering. Take a look at our previous shortlist and winners to find out more.  

Submit your entries or nominations by Wednesday 14 August 2024. Any questions? Email

What are we looking for? 

  • Sensitive, high-quality, honest and appropriate repairs to the fabric, fittings or furnishings of places of worship, e.g. roofs, towers, walls, floors, windows, screens, monuments or seating 
  • Reasoned arguments for carrying out these repairs, including
    • A statement of need 
    • Analysis of the problems 
    • Options considered 
    • Design and detail of work 
    • How loss of original fabric was avoided or minimised 
  • Places of worship can be for any faith, e.g. churches, synagogues, mosques or temples, but not cathedrals 
  • Buildings must remain in active use as places of worship
  • Buildings can be of any period and do not need to be listed 
  • Buildings must be in the UK or Republic of Ireland (including Channel Islands and Isle of Man) 
  • Work must have received any necessary approvals (e.g. faculty permission and/or listed building consent) in 2022 or 2023

How to enter

Please enter via the online form. We need to know: 

  • The name of the building 
  • How it meets the criteria above 
  • Who was involved in the project, e.g. owners, contractors 
  • Why you think the building deserves this Award 

You need to include: 

  • A minimum of three and a maximum of six high-resolution images (JPGs or PNGs) that show the building and how it meets the criteria (300dpi minimum) 
  • Image credits and description saved in the file names, e.g. ‘Gutters © William Morris’ 
  • You must have the photographer’s permission to submit these images 

All Awards are free to enter. Shortlisted entries will be required to purchase at least one in-person ticket to the Awards Ceremony (£59 Members, £69 Non-Members). 

We can only consider entries that meet the criteria above. 

Any questions? Email