Board of Trustees

Meet our Board of Trustees


Iain Boyd
Iain joined SPAB over 30 years ago and was first elected as a Guardian in 2010, to the Executive in 2011 and as Chairman in 2015. He is also a Trustee of the ICON and has previously held other governance positions in education and with the Samaritans. His professional career began in banking followed by a career in advertising and television. From 1996, he worked in new media, founding and developing several businesses. He holds a first degree in Psychology and, returning to his early interests, gained a MSc in Conservation of the Historic Environment in 2008.
Vice Chairman
Charles Wagner
Charles graduated as a civil engineer, was awarded an SPAB Scholarship in 1980 and went onto work for English Heritage. He left in 2015 to be a heritage and planning consultant, and work with the Built Heritage Consultancy. He is President of the Association for Studies in the Conservation of Historic Buildings (ASCHB) and Co-chair of the Heritage Alliance’s Spatial Planning Advisory Group. He is actively involved in building conservation with the Mausolea & Monuments Trust, his local historic cemetery friends, his local amenity societies and Fulham Palace.
Chris Wheaton
Chris has been a financial analyst for over twenty years but his most fulfilling roles have been voluntary ones. His most recent volunteer work was as a trustee of a sizeable multi-school charitable trust with annual income of over £30m and nearly 500 employees. Chris has been a SPAB member for at least 10-15 years and has loved old buildings for as long as he can remember.

Trustees and Guardians

A brief description of Trustees and Guardians.

Jessica Sutcliffe

Conservation architect, Jessica is a founder trustee of Square Chapel, Halifax, West Yorkshire, actively contributing to its gradual transformation

Duncan McCallum

Duncan is Strategy and Listing Director at Historic England. He has over 30 years of experience in the heritage sector.

Nichola Tasker

Nichola is a conservation architect and SPAB Scholar. She is currently Head of National Projects for English Heritage.

James Weir

Historic buildings consultant and surveyor, SPAB Casework Panel member and currently researching late medieval and early modern community buildings

Mildred Cookson

Joined the SPAB in 1976 and has been a Section committee member for many years also serving as Chairman for 3 years.

Gillian Darley

A writer, broadcaster and biographer.

Rachel Morley

A conservator with a fascination for stone, plaster, funerary monuments and ancient churches; Director of Friends of Friendsless Churches.

Richard Max

Richard is a solicitor and specialises in planning and compulsory purchase law.

Dr Peter Burman

Architectural and garden historian; archivist. Career has alternated between university posts and major heritage organisations.