Philip Webb Award

The Philip Webb Award 2017

An annual award for recent graduates and Part II students at UK Schools of Architecture


Images: left - Citta della Memoria, Bethan Watson; Right - Alzheimer's Care Centre, Cristiano Lamarque.

The Award
Named in honour of the SPAB’s co-founder, architect Philip Webb, the Award encourages and celebrates the sympathetic reuse of old buildings and sensitive new design in an historic context. It’s a unique opportunity for students and architects in the early stages of their career to demonstrate their understanding of repair techniques, and their engagement with the SPAB’s principles in fitting new to old, as well as their design flair.

2017 competition
The Philip Webb Award will be held again in 2017 for current Part II students, and recent graduates of UK Schools of Architecture who completed their studies in 2015 or 2016. 

They are invited to put forward a scheme to revitalise a building of their choosing which has decayed or been neglected, but which can be repaired and adapted for a sympathetic new use.

The submission period for entries will open on 14 July and close at 5pm on 11 September 2017

Find out more
More information can be found on the Philip Webb Award 2017 flier
Contact: with any queries.
Download the Notes for Entrants and the 2017 Entry forms.

Previous Philip Webb Award Winners

2016 competition results
The panel of expert judges met on 2 November 2016 at the SPAB’s offices. Competition entries were assessed anonymously against the published criteria.

Equal first prize (£750 each)

  • Bethan Watson (Cambridge University) - Citta della Memoria: a scheme for the earthquake-damaged Italian town of L’Aquila
  • Cristiano Lamarque (Oxford Brookes University) - conversion of the former Convent of Sao Bento de Castris at Evora, Portugal into a centre caring for Alzheimer’s’ sufferers. 

Highly commended (activity break at Avon Tyrrell)
Outline masterplan and proposal by Jordan Green (Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff) and Rhys Waring (Nottingham University graduate) for the creation of new facilities, alongside repairs, at William Lethaby’s remarkable country house, Avon Tyrrell, in Hampshire.

The house is now used by charity UK Youth – the SPAB’s competition partner this year – as its outdoor education centre.  Jordan and Rhys will have the opportunity to present their concepts to UK Youth, who are currently drawing up a major scheme for the site.

Other congratulations (book prizes)
Jennifer Bull (Kent University graduate) - clarity and impact of supporting material.
Hannah Couper (Kent University graduate) – articulation of supporting narrative and proposal.

Philip Webb Award Winners 2015
Holly Spilsbury, a part-time Masters student at Manchester University, received the Philip Webb Award certificate and a prize of £1500 for her sensitive and imaginative scheme for Standen.
Luke Nagle, a graduate of Birmingham School of Architecture, was commended for his Standen scheme.
Jeremy Haest, an Oxford School of Architecture (Oxford Brookes) student, was commended for his scheme to convert the redundant Hartera paper factory’s power station into an Industrial Heritage Museum for the Croatian port city of Rijeka. 

Philip Webb Award Winners 2011
Clara Byrne from Nottingham University won the first prize of £1,000 for her scheme "Traces" at No.76 Dean Street, Soho.
The second prize (£500) was awarded to Jonathan Shaw from University of Sheffield.
The third prize (£100) went to Ingrid Schreiber-France from University of Greenwich.

Philip Webb Award Winners 2010
First Prize went to Niall Bird, who was in his final year at Portsmouth University, for his scheme for an education and visitor centre at Bursledon Brickworks in Hampshire. Niall also won the competition in 2009.
Second prize was awarded to Dan Ladyman, a student at Nottingham University, for his Oral History Centre scheme for the Isle of Portland.< /br> The third prize went to Charles Wellingham for his "Eat Hub Local" project at Gloucester Docks.

Philip Webb Award Winners 2009
First Prize went to Niall Bird, from Portsmouth University, for his Lido scheme. Niall's scheme tackled the difficult issue of site access. He envisaged a much wider range of water sports and other activities taking place on the site to encourage far more people to use it. His scheme retained the existing buildings, some extended to provide upgraded facilities, but he also proposed several new structures reflecting design features of the 1930s. The key aspect of Niall’s design, the judges said, was his decision to introduce a series of beacons into each of the new structures fulfilling the most important function of making the site noticeable from further afield, attracting visitors, as well as lighting the site itself.

The second prize went to Darren Furniss, a year 6 student at Westminster for his scheme “Rooms for Music”, a bold and ambitious proposal to extend the 17th-century Wroclaw Opera House in Poland, recently the subject of an international competition.