Esher Award

The Esher Award commemorates the late Viscount Esher GBE, Hon FRIBA who was Chairman of the SPAB from 1932-1960. It is not presented each year, but is given when deserved to those who, on purely altruistic grounds, have furthered the cause of building conservation and the work of the Society.

The most recent Award was presented to both Elaine and Charles Blackett-Ord, an architect and an engineer based in Cumbria, at the 2015 Members' Weekend in Carlisle.


Mrs John Baber 
Mrs Joan Wake
Lady Parker
Mrs Norah Lane 
Mrs P E Howells
Rex Wailes
John Macgregor
C V Wallace
Antony Dale
Leonard Hackett
Sir John Smith
Miss P Penn
Arch Ireson
V D Lipman
Lady Evershed
Mr and Mrs Harry Dance
Coggeshall Grange Barn Trust
Dame Jennifer Jenkins
Dorothy Stroud
Robert and Eve Baker
Ivor Bulmer-Thomas
Lady Harrod
Duke of Grafton
Alan Baxter
Raven Frankland
Penelope Adamson
Jeremy Benson
Jack Dawson
Peter Foster
Sonia Rolt
Peter Minter
Martin Drury
Peter Burman
James Boutwood
Kenneth Major
David W Lloyd
Rachel Bower
John Schofield
Helen Kirk
Lord and Lady Saye and Sele
Anthony Goode
David Lodge
Neil Birdsall 
Gillian Darley
Elaine and Charles Blackett-Ord