

# The SPAB PHILIP WEBB AWARD

A design-orientated competition for architects in the early stages of their career, which aims to encourage conservation and sympathetic reuse of existing buildings alongside sensitive new design in an historic context.

# **PAST JUDGES (arranged alphabetically)**

1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000	Jim Boutwood Bob Allies Jim Boutwood Richard Griffiths Richard Feilden Eva Jiricna George Ferguson	David Lea Julian Harrap Jim Boutwood Niall Phillips Niall Phillips Richard Griffiths John Sell Derek Latham	Rodney Melville Robin Nicholson Sir William Whitfield Prof Sir Colin Stansfield Smith Alan Willis John Sell James Simpson Richard Murphy
2001	Competition cancelled Bob Franklin	Lady Datty Hanking	Pagar Maara
	Paul Crosby	Lady Patty Hopkins Bob Franklin	Sir Donald Insall CBE
	Paul Crosby	Alan Forsyth	John McAslan
	Alan Forsyth	James Gorst	Geoff Rich
	Competition not held		
2007	Simon Conder	James Gorst	Geoff Rich
2008	Joanna van Heyningen	David Heath	Peter Jamieson
2009	Peter Jamieson	Giles Downes	Miriam Kelly
2010	Paddy Dillon	Ptolemy Dean	David Heath
2011	Eric Parry	Paddy Dillon	Nick Hirst
2012	Martin Ashley	William Mann	Malcolm Simmonds
2013	Competition not held		
2014	Competition not held		
2015	Philip Barnes (NT)	Elizabeth Hopkirk	Kevin McCloud (Chair)
	Robert Richmond	Martin Stancliffe	
2016	Michael Drury	Ptolemy Dean	Elinor Gray-Williams
	Elizabeth Hopkirk	David Watts (UK Youth)	

## PAST WINNERS, RUNNERS-UP & THEIR SCHEMES

2016

'Live brief' category in partnership with UK Youth at Avon Tyrrell, Hants.

Commended:

Cat 1 Jordan Green & A scheme for Avon Tyrrell

Rhys Waring

2015

'Live brief' category in partnership with National Trust at Standen House, Sussex

I<sup>st</sup> Holly Spilsbury A scheme for Standen Overall winner

Commended:

Cat 1 Luke Nagle An Arts & Crafts Archive – Standen stable block
Cat 2 Jeremy Haest Industrial Heritage Museum, Rijeka, Croatia

2013 & 2014

Competition not held

2012

Three commended entrants but no winner.

2011

1<sup>st</sup> Clara Byrne *Traces* - 76 Dean Street, Soho

2<sup>nd</sup> Jonathan Shaw What we leave behind - Sheffield Crown Court

3<sup>rd</sup> Ingrid Schreiber-Franke Thamesmead South Masterplan

2010

1<sup>st</sup> Niall Bird Bursledon Brickworks

2<sup>nd</sup> Dan Ladyman Institute for Oral History, Portland, Dorset

3<sup>rd</sup> Charles Wellingham Eat Local Hub in Gloucester Docks

2009

1<sup>st</sup> Niall Bird Hilsea Lido

2<sup>nd</sup> Darren Furniss Wroclaw Opera House, Poland

No 3<sup>rd</sup> prize awarded

2008

1<sup>st</sup> Jennifer Routledge Passe Nouveau, Newhaven 2<sup>nd</sup> = Alexandra Briars St Marks Church, Leicester

2<sup>nd</sup> = Grant Prescott Upper Brook St Chapel, Manchester

2007

1<sup>st</sup> Andrea Obiol V&A Boilerhouse site
2<sup>nd</sup> Awot Kibrom V&A Boilerhouse site

2<sup>nd</sup> Awot Kibrom V&A Boilerhouse site
3<sup>rd</sup> Benjamin Ridley & Wine Bar in St Stephen's Church

Benjamin Ridley & Wine Bar in St Stephen's Church, Hampstead Jonas Major

2006

Competition not held

#### 2005

No award made

2004

1<sup>st</sup> Susie Hyden A Hostel on the [Dover] Heights

2<sup>nd</sup> David Maciver, Graeme Broadford Works, Aberdeen

McRobbie & Yannis
Christodoulou

3<sup>rd</sup> Nicholas Henderson Tobacco Dock Warehouse, Stanley Dock, Liverpool

2003

1<sup>st</sup> = Khalil ur Rehman GP surgery in decommissioned electricity sub-station

1<sup>st</sup> = Argus Gathorne-Hardy Old Silk Mill, Chipping Campden, Gloucs

3<sup>rd</sup> Mark Marshall

2002

1st Richard Norwood & Royal Ordnance Depot, Weedon Bec

Michael Lavender

2<sup>nd</sup> = Steven Higgon, Jumbo Water Tower, Colchester, Essex

Paul Willey & Adam Griggs

2<sup>nd =</sup> Nikki Hilton Double Reynolds Warehouse, Gloucester Docks

2001

Competition cancelled

2000

1<sup>st</sup> = Nitesh Magdani St Lawrence Church, York 3<sup>rd</sup> = Emma-Louise Oliver Harvey's Foundry, Hayle

3<sup>rd</sup> = Adrian Ringrose Infirmary Hall & Table Hall, Peterborough Cathedral

1999

1<sup>st</sup> Malcolm Simmonds Archbishop's Palace, Charing, Kent

2<sup>nd</sup> Iain Walter The Belvedere, Waldershare, Dover

3<sup>rd</sup> Paul Jolly & The Hilsea Lines Nicholas van der Worp

1998

1<sup>st</sup> Justin Lee Richards 'Arx Ruochim', Whiteness Pont, Thanet

Commended:

\* Paul Evans St Luke's church, Old Street, London

\* Ian Grice & Karen Harrison The Hide Shed, Bristol

\* Nicholas Hirst Woodchester Mansion, Gloucs

1997

1<sup>st</sup> Niamh Ashe Hospice in the Cubicle Building, Hawkshead Hospital

2<sup>nd</sup> K Nassim Miri, Sanjeev Caledonian Road Church, the Gorbals, Glasgow

Sharma & Stephen Williams

3<sup>rd</sup> James Reed & Tolkein Centre at Sarehole Mill, Hall Green, Birmingham

Colin Veitch

# 1996

No outright winner – four schemes shared the prize money equally:

\* Jennifer Berry Wildlife Education Centre, Old Monkcastle, Ayrshire

\* Adam Sharr Hostel, Maiden Lane, London

\* Nick Hill, Ian O'Brien & Music Rooms, Palace of Holyroodhouse

Adam Parkyn

\* Simon Francis, Alastair Kings Coffee House, Knutsford)

Stanley, Simon Waite &

Chris White

## 1995

1<sup>st</sup> Christopher Jones & Sailing Centre, Round Tower, Portsmouth

**Martin Coles** 

2<sup>nd</sup> Melanie Clamp, Interpretation Centre at Rievaulx Abbey, Yorkshire

Hugh Jackson, Alex Rusher

& Gareth Share

3<sup>rd</sup> David Dunbar. Battersea Power Station

Anthony O'Brien & Stephen Spender

### 1994

1st Christopher Fegan Dallmellington Ironworks, Ayrshire

2<sup>nd</sup> = Lorraine McHardy Balgonie Castle, Fife 2<sup>nd</sup> = Edward Hollis Linlithgow Palace 3<sup>rd</sup> Sarah Parkes Hailes Castle, Dunbar

## 1993

1<sup>st</sup> Paul Crosby Bridgend Mill, Dalry, Ayrshire
2<sup>nd</sup> Graeme Power-Hosking Archicentre at St Lukes, Liverpool

Commended:

\* Sonia Lane Barlia Stables Block, Castlemilk, Strathclyde

Header image: 2010 winner Niall Bird - Bursledon Brickworks