

The SPAB PHILIP WEBB AWARD

A design-orientated competition for architects in the early stages of their career, which aims to encourage conservation and sympathetic reuse of existing buildings alongside sensitive new design in an historic context.

PAST JUDGES (arranged alphabetically)

1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000	Julian Harrap Jim Boutwood Bob Allies Jim Boutwood Richard Griffiths Richard Feilden Eva Jiricna George Ferguson Competition cancelled	David Lea Julian Harrap Jim Boutwood Niall Phillips Niall Phillips Richard Griffiths John Sell Derek Latham	Rodney Melville Robin Nicholson Sir William Whitfield Prof Sir Colin Stansfield Smith Alan Willis John Sell James Simpson Richard Murphy
	Bob Franklin	Lady Patty Hopkins	
2003	Paul Crosby	Bob Franklin	Sir Donald Insall CBE
2004	Paul Crosby	Alan Forsyth	John McAslan
	Alan Forsyth	James Gorst	Geoff Rich
	Competition not held		
	Simon Conder	James Gorst	Geoff Rich
	Joanna van Heyningen	David Heath	Peter Jamieson
2009	Peter Jamieson	Giles Downes	Miriam Kelly
2010	Patrick Dillon	Ptolemy Dean	David Heath
2011	Eric Parry	Paddy Dillon	Nick Hirst
	Martin Ashley	William Mann	Malcolm Simmonds
	Competition not held		
	Competition not held		
2015	Philip Barnes (NT)	Elizabeth Hopkirk	Kevin McCloud (Chair)
	Robert Richmond	Martin Stancliffe	
2016	Michael Drury	Ptolemy Dean	Elinor Gray-Williams
	Elizabeth Hopkirk	David Watts (UK Yo	
2017	Niall Bird	John Goom	Charles Holland
	Meriel O'Dowd	Oliver Wainwright	
2018	Kate Darby	Izaak Hudson	Roger Hunt
	Sift with Robert Davies		
2019	Rebecca Harrison	Shahed Saleem	Charles Wellingham
	Sift with Robert Davies		
2020	Richard Griffiths	Sarah Khan	Kirstie Robbins
	Sift with Robert Davies		

PAST WINNERS, RUNNERS-UP & THEIR SCHEMES

2020

1st Jess Tyson Nottingham Arts Centre

2nd Team entry Moseley Road Baths, Birmingham

(Rebecca Chim, Shannon Ciriaco, Frances Lacey, Annabel Linch, Huma Mahmood,

Lechelle Ndlovu, James Timmins)

Commended:

Justin (Chin Kiu) Chung Islanded - a Reimagined Factory (Dana Prison, Shrewsbury)

2019

1st = Olivia Hellman The Dairy Factory, Burslem, Stoke on Trent

1st = Nikola Yanev Old Lane Mill, Halifax: algae energy, education and

wetlands centre

2018

1st Chris Hamill Armagh Gaol

2nd Rachael Moon Celebrating the Pit Head Baths, Chatterley Whitfield

3rd Joe Copp Bristol Floating Harbour

2017

1st Marta Ascenso Architecture Over Time: Ruins (Craco, Basilicata)

2nd Alanah Honey Zanzibar Institute of Design

3rd Kate Nicholson Storytelling at Spode

Commended:

Lilian Main Space to Make

2016

'Live brief' category in partnership with UK Youth at Avon Tyrrell, Hants.

Commended:

Cat 1 Jordan Green & A scheme for Avon Tyrrell

Rhys Waring

2015

'Live brief' category in partnership with National Trust at Standen House, Sussex

1st Holly Spilsbury A scheme for Standen Overall winner

Commended:

Cat 1 Luke Nagle An Arts & Crafts Archive – Standen stable block
Cat 2 Jeremy Haest Industrial Heritage Museum, Rijeka, Croatia

2013 & 2014

Competition not held

2012

Three commended entrants but no winner.

2011

1st Clara Byrne *Traces* - 76 Dean Street, Soho

2nd Jonathan Shaw What we leave behind - Sheffield Crown Court

3rd Ingrid Schreiber-Franke Thamesmead South Masterplan

2010

1st Niall Bird Bursledon Brickworks

2nd Dan Ladyman Institute for Oral History, Portland, Dorset

3rd Charles Wellingham Eat Local Hub in Gloucester Docks

2009

1st Niall Bird Hilsea Lido

2nd Darren Furniss Wroclaw Opera House, Poland

No 3rd prize awarded

2008

1st Jennifer Routledge Passe Nouveau, Newhaven 2nd = Alexandra Briars St Marks Church, Leicester

2nd = Grant Prescott Upper Brook St Chapel, Manchester

2007

1st Andrea Obiol V&A Boilerhouse site
2nd Awot Kibrom V&A Boilerhouse site

3rd Benjamin Ridley & Wine Bar in St Stephen's Church, Hampstead

Jonas Major

2006

Competition not held

2005

No award made

2004

1st Susie Hyden A Hostel on the [Dover] Heights

2nd David Maciver, Graeme Broadford Works, Aberdeen

McRobbie & Yannis Christodoulou

3rd Nicholas Henderson Tobacco Dock Warehouse, Stanley Dock, Liverpool

2003

1st = Khalil ur Rehman GP surgery in decommissioned electricity sub-station

1st = Argus Gathorne-Hardy Old Silk Mill, Chipping Campden, Gloucs

3rd Mark Marshall

2002

1st Richard Norwood & Royal Ordnance Depot, Weedon Bec

Michael Lavender

2nd = Steven Higgon, Jumbo Water Tower, Colchester, Essex

Paul Willey & Adam Griggs

2^{nd =} Nikki Hilton Double Reynolds Warehouse, Gloucester Docks

2001

Competition cancelled

2000

1st = Chris Draper *Unveiling Hawksmoor* – St George-in-the-East

1st = Nitesh Magdani St Lawrence Church, York 3rd = Emma-Louise Oliver Harvey's Foundry, Hayle

3rd = Adrian Ringrose Infirmary Hall & Table Hall, Peterborough Cathedral

1999

1st Malcolm Simmonds Archbishop's Palace, Charing, Kent The Belvedere, Waldershare, Dover

3rd Paul Jolly & The Hilsea Lines

Nicholas van der Worp

1998

1st Justin Lee Richards 'Arx Ruochim', Whiteness Pont, Thanet

Commended:

* Paul Evans St Luke's church, Old Street, London

* Ian Grice & Karen Harrison The Hide Shed, Bristol

Nicholas Hirst Woodchester Mansion, Gloucs

1997

1st Niamh Ashe Hospice in the Cubicle Building, Hawkshead Hospital

2nd K Nassim Miri, Sanjeev Caledonian Road Church, the Gorbals, Glasgow

Sharma & Stephen Williams

3rd James Reed & Tolkein Centre at Sarehole Mill, Hall Green, Birmingham

Colin Veitch

1996

No outright winner – four schemes shared the prize money equally:

* Jennifer Berry Wildlife Education Centre, Old Monkcastle, Ayrshire

* Adam Sharr Hostel, Maiden Lane, London

* Nick Hill, Ian O'Brien & Music Rooms, Palace of Holyroodhouse

Adam Parkyn

* Simon Francis, Alastair Kings Coffee House, Knutsford)

Stanley, Simon Waite &

Chris White

1995

1st Christopher Jones & Sailing Centre, Round Tower, Portsmouth

Martin Coles

2nd Melanie Clamp, Interpretation Centre at Rievaulx Abbey, Yorkshire

Hugh Jackson, Alex Rusher

& Gareth Share

3rd David Dunbar, Battersea Power Station

Anthony O'Brien & Stephen Spender

1994

Dallmellington Ironworks, Ayrshire Balgonie Castle, Fife

1st Christopher Fegan 2nd = Lorraine McHardy 2nd = Edward Hollis Linlithgow Palace 3rd Hailes Castle, Dunbar Sarah Parkes

1993

1st **Paul Crosby** Graeme Power-Hosking Bridgend Mill, Dalry, Ayrshire

2nd Archicentre at St Lukes, Liverpool

Commended:

Barlia Stables Block, Castlemilk, Strathclyde Sonia Lane

Header image: 2010 winner Niall Bird – Bursledon Brickworks