

The SPAB PHILIP WEBB AWARD

A design-orientated competition for architects in the early stages of their career, which aims to encourage conservation and sympathetic reuse of existing buildings alongside sensitive new design in an historic context.

PAST JUDGES (arranged alphabetically)

1996 1997 1998 1999	Jim Boutwood Bob Allies Jim Boutwood Richard Griffiths Richard Feilden Eva Jiricna George Ferguson	David Lea Julian Harrap Jim Boutwood Niall Phillips Niall Phillips Richard Griffiths John Sell Derek Latham	Rodney Melville Robin Nicholson Sir William Whitfield Prof Sir Colin Stansfield Smith Alan Willis John Sell James Simpson Richard Murphy
2002	Bob Franklin	Lady Patty Hopkins	Roger Mears
2003	Paul Crosby	Bob Franklin	Sir Donald Insall CBE
	Paul Crosby	Alan Forsyth	John McAslan
2005	Alan Forsyth	James Gorst	Geoff Rich
2006	1		
2007	Simon Conder	James Gorst	Geoff Rich
2008	Joanna van Heyningen	David Heath	Peter Jamieson
2009	Peter Jamieson	Giles Downes	Miriam Kelly
2010	Paddy Dillon	Ptolemy Dean	David Heath
2011	Eric Parry	Paddy Dillon	Nick Hirst
	Martin Ashley	William Mann	Malcolm Simmonds
2013	1		
2014	1		
2015	Philip Barnes (NT) Robert Richmond	Elizabeth Hopkirk Martin Stancliffe	Kevin McCloud (Chair)
2016	Michael Drury	Ptolemy Dean	Elinor Gray-Williams
	Elizabeth Hopkirk	David Watts (UK Yo	
2017	Niall Bird	John Goom	Charles Holland
	Meriel O'Dowd	Oliver Wainwright	
		-	

PAST WINNERS, RUNNERS-UP & THEIR SCHEMES

1 st	Marta Ascenso	Architecture Over Time: Ruins (Craco, Basilicata)
2 nd	Alanah Honey	Zanzibar Institute of Design
3 rd	Kate Nicholson	Storytelling at Spode
Commended:		
	Lilian Main	Space to Make

'Live brief' cate	gory in partner	ship with UK Youth at Avon Tyrrell, Hants.
1 st = Bethan V		Citta della Memoria: post-disaster L'Aquila
1 st = Cristiand	o Lamarque	Alzheimer's Respite Centre, Evora, Portugal
Commended:		
Cat 1 Jordan G Rhys Wa		A scheme for Avon Tyrrell

'Live brief' category in partnership with National Trust at Standen House, Sussex1stHolly SpilsburyA scheme for StandenOverall winnerCommended:Overall vinnerOverall winnerCat 1Luke NagleAn Arts & Crafts Archive – Standen stable blockCat 2Jeremy HaestIndustrial Heritage Museum, Rijeka, Croatia

2013 & 2014

Competition not held

Three commended entrants but no winner.

1 st	Clara Byrne	Traces - 76 Dean Street, Soho
2 nd 3 rd	Jonathan Shaw Ingrid Schreiber-Franke	<i>What we leave behind</i> - Sheffield Crown Court Thamesmead South Masterplan

1 st	Niall Bird	Bursledon Brickworks
2 nd	Dan Ladyman	Institute for Oral History, Portland, Dorset
3 rd	Charles Wellingham	Eat Local Hub in Gloucester Docks

1 st	Niall Bird	Hilsea Lido
2 nd	Darren Furniss	Wroclaw Opera House, Poland
No 3	rd prize awarded	

1 st	Jennifer Routledge	Passe Nouveau, Newhaven
	Alexandra Briars	St Marks Church, Leicester
2 nd =	Grant Prescott	Upper Brook St Chapel, Manchester

2007

1st Andrea Obiol

2nd Awot Kibrom

3rd Benjamin Ridley & Jonas Major

V&A Boilerhouse site V&A Boilerhouse site Wine Bar in St Stephen's Church, Hampstead

2006

Competition not held

2005

No award made

2004

1 st 2 nd	Susie Hyden David Maciver, Graeme McRobbie & Yannis	A Hostel on the [Dover] Heights Broadford Works, Aberdeen
3 rd	Christodoulou Nicholas Henderson	Tobacco Dock Warehouse, Stanley Dock, Liverpool
2003 1 st = 1 st = 3 rd	Khalil ur Rehman Argus Gathorne-Hardy Mark Marshall	GP surgery in decommissioned electricity sub-station Old Silk Mill, Chipping Campden, Gloucs
2002 1st	Richard Norwood &	Royal Ordnance Depot, Weedon Bec

Michael Lavender2nd =Steven Higgon,Jumbo Water Tower, Colchester, EssexPaul Willey & Adam Griggs2^{nd =}Nikki HiltonDouble Reynolds Warehouse, Gloucester Docks

2001

Competition cancelled

1 st = 3 rd =	Chris Draper Nitesh Magdani Emma-Louise Oliver Adrian Ringrose	<i>Unveiling Hawksmoor</i> – St George-in-the-East St Lawrence Church, York Harvey's Foundry, Hayle Infirmary Hall & Table Hall, Peterborough Cathedral
1999		

1st Malcolm Simmonds

Archbishop's Palace, Charing, Kent The Belvedere, Waldershare, Dover

 2nd Iain Walter
 3rd Paul Jolly & Nicholas van der Worp

The Belvedere, Waldershare, The Hilsea Lines

1998

1 st	Justin Lee Richards	'Arx Ruochim', Whiteness Pont, Thanet
Comr	mended:	

- * Paul Evans St Luke's church, Old Street, London
- * Ian Grice & Karen Harrison The Hide Shed, Bristol
- * Nicholas Hirst Woodchester Mansion, Gloucs

1997

- 1st Niamh Ashe Hospice in the Cubicle Building, Hawkshead Hospital
- 2nd K Nassim Miri, Sanjeev Caledonian Road Church, the Gorbals, Glasgow Sharma & Stephen Williams
- 3rd James Reed & Tolkein Centre at Sarehole Mill, Hall Green, Birmingham Colin Veitch

1996

No outright winner – four schemes shared the prize money equally:

- * Jennifer Berry Wildlife Education Centre, Old Monkcastle, Ayrshire
- * Adam Sharr
 * Nick Hill Jap O'Brian & Music Pooms, Palace of Holyroodhous
 - Nick Hill, Ian O'Brien & Music Rooms, Palace of Holyroodhouse
- Adam Parkyn * Simon Francis, Alastair Kings (Stanley, Simon Waite & Chris White

Kings Coffee House, Knutsford)

1995

- 1st Christopher Jones & Sailing Centre, Round Tower, Portsmouth Martin Coles
- 2nd Melanie Clamp, Interpretation Centre at Rievaulx Abbey, Yorkshire Hugh Jackson, Alex Rusher & Gareth Share
- 3rd David Dunbar, Battersea Power Station Anthony O'Brien & Stephen Spender

1994

1st Christopher Fegan Dallmellington Ironworks, Ayrshire

- 2nd = Lorraine McHardy Balgonie Castle, Fife
- 2nd = Edward Hollis Linlithgow Palace
- 3rd Sarah Parkes Hailes Castle, Dunbar

1993 1st

Bridgend Mill, Dalry, Ayrshire

Archicentre at St Lukes, Liverpool

2nd Graeme Power-Hosking Commended:

* Sonia Lane E

Paul Crosby

Barlia Stables Block, Castlemilk, Strathclyde