Just a few weeks left to enter or nominate for the SPAB Heritage Awards

Share on:

Join us in celebrating the unsung heroes who care for and repair old buildings right across the UK and Republic of Ireland.   

Anyone can enter or nominate a building (and the incredible team behind it) for one of five SPAB Heritage Awards, which celebrate the incredible energy, expertise and creativity of the heritage sector. 

We’ve extended the deadline to Wednesday 14 August to allow more time for entries. Enter or nominate for one of the Awards below, or share this with someone who might be interested. Good luck!  

Best Loved Award    

Caring for an old building really is a labour of love! Do you know of an old building getting the TLC it deserves? Put it forward for the Best Loved Award and help to shine a spotlight on the people doing the hard work behind the scenes. The winners will be selected by public vote and announced by Alice Loxton, AKA History Alice, at our Awards Ceremony in November.  

The Sustainable Heritage Award   

When it comes to buildings, what could be more sustainable than repairing, upgrading and reusing the ones we already have? Sponsored by Keymer Handmade Tiles, the Sustainable Heritage Award celebrates sensitive, sympathetic and sustainable upgrades to traditional buildings. 


A stonemason lettercutting

A stonemason lettercutting © Rachel Stoplar

The Building Craftsperson of the Year Award   

Do you know an early-career craftsperson working with traditional skills, buildings and materials? Nominating them for the Building Craftsperson of the Year Award could be a game-changer for their career!  

Sponsored by Owlsworth IJP, this Award recognises inspiring up-and-coming craftspeople working with traditional materials and old buildings. Enter yourself, nominate someone else, or pass this on to someone who might be interested.   

The John Betjeman Award  

At a time when many places of worship are being sold, we’re celebrating the projects that are helping to keep these buildings in active use.  

Named in honour of the writer, architectural historian and conservation campaigner, the John Betjeman Award celebrates the repair and conservation of places of worship for any faith.  

The Philip Webb Award   

The Philip Webb Award is a design competition that encourages the sympathetic reuse of existing buildings, and champions sensitive contemporary design for old buildings. Architecture students and recent graduates are invited to devise a scheme which sympathetically brings an old building back into use. We can’t wait to see the results! 

The Awards Ceremony  

Kevin McCloud at the 2022 Awards ceremony

Kevin McCloud at the 2022 Awards Ceremony © Ralph Hodgson

Join us at our Awards Ceremony on Thursday 14 November to celebrate the winners! This year’s ceremony will take place at the stunning Barbican Centre in London. The ceremony will be hosted by writer, presenter, broadcaster and SPAB Ambassador Kevin McCloud. Author, history broadcaster and social media star Alice Loxton (a.k.a. History Alice) will also be there to present our Best Loved Award.  

Tickets will be available from September, so watch this space!  

Visit our Awards page to find out more, and submit your entries or nominations by Wednesday 14 August 2024. 


Get involved